Gayle Wagenhals Sage Makes Second Gift

GHS Educational Trust Awards First

Gift IHO Gayle Wagenhals Sage

Gayle Wagenhals Sage, a member of the Glasgow High School class of 1971, proudly describes herself as a “Scotty for Life!!” In affirmation of that spirit, she recently donated $10,000 to the Glasgow High School Educational Trust. This is her second such gift. In 2012, she made her first donation of $10,000 to the trust in memory of her parents, life-long Scotty boosters, Richard “Dick” Wagenhals and Mary Lou Alley Wagenhals. In making her second gift, Sage wrote, “Glasgow was the greatest place to grow up, and this is my way of giving back to my hometown. I have developed friendships that have lasted my whole life. Glasgow is a community that has always supported its youth, and this gift will help to continue supporting GHS students for years to come!”

After graduating from GHS, Gayle Wagenhals Sage attended Eastern Montana College (now MSU-Billings) where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Special Education/Elementary Education. She taught second grade in Poplar for five years and knows from experience and observation what a profound difference a quality education can make in an individual’s life. To her, investing in the education of others, especially those who may need financial assistance, is both professionally and personally meaningful.

As with all gifts to the trust, Sage’s donation will be invested. The interest earned on the trust’s corpus, which now exceeds $5 million dollars, is used for financial aid to GHS alumni who are attending college or vocational/technical schools. Grants are awarded through a semi-annual application process administered by the trustees. Applicants must have completed one year of college or one semester of vocational/technical school, be full-time students in good academic standing, show steady progress toward the completion of a degree, and meet other requirements listed on the application to be eligible. Students may apply by July 1st of each year to receive assistance for both semesters of the upcoming school term or by October 15th of each year to receive aid for the spring semester only. The application and other information about the trust are available online at

Since its founding in 1964 by the GHS Class of 1938, the Glasgow High School Educational Trust has given 2,074 grants valued over $1.7 million dollars to hundreds of GHS alumni attending schools across the nation. Many of these students (89%) have received multiple gifts over their courses of study. This includes nontraditional students who may be completing their education through online and/or correspondence courses.

The trust also purchases equipment and programs for GHS which cannot be financed within the school’s regular budget. These gifts have been given to every department to enrich the educational experience of all students and to benefit the community at large when it attends events at the school or uses its facilities To date, the value of these gifts is $205,055.03.

Whenever the trust receives donations in the name of a particular individual that total over $500 in value, a gift is made to a student or a department of GHS in honor, recognition, or memory of that individual. Gifts of $10,000 or more entitle the donor to an annual naming opportunity in perpetuity. All donations are tax deductible, and gifts of all sizes of stock, real estate, and cash are greatly appreciated.

At its recent semi-annual meeting, the trust made grants to 44 different students, including one to honor the generosity of Gayle Wagenhals Sage.

First time recipients:

Shyla Bergtoll, Weber State University, IMO Ivy & Millie Knight; Alex Daggett, Minot State University , IMO Horace O. & Emma C. Gamas; Megan Dailey, Dickinson State University, IHO Beryl Pehlke; Emma Fewer, University of Montana-Missoula, IMO Ardis Parke Fuhrman; Madison Hansen, Montana State University-Bozeman, IMO Dean Rusher; Erika Hartsock, Montana State University-Billings, IMO Lila Moen Sanders & IHO Phyllis Moen Sanguine; Abigail Helland, Montana State University-Bozeman, IMO Dr. Nancy Lee Etchart; Lane Herbert, University of North Dakota, IMO Ronald A. Combs; Kylie Herringer, University of Colorado, IMO James & Anne Hoffmann; Skyler Sallee, Appalachian Bible College, IMO Maxine Fiedler; Connor Simensen, Flathead Valley Community College, IMO Richard “Dick” & Mary Lou Alley Wagenhals; Mariah Stein, Dakota College at Bottineau, IMO Donna Lee Squires Etchart; Lachlan Vaira, University of North Dakota, IHO Christoffersen & Knierim, P.C.; Rachel Zeiger, Gillette College, IRO Ione & Phyliss Kleppin.

Second time recipients:

Travis Austin, North Dakota State College of Science, IMO Aaron “Chappy” Chatten; Danielle Belleau, Dakota College at Bottineau, IHO Everett & Elizabeth Breigenzer; Griffin Bengochea, Montana State University-Bozeman, IMO Verda Hoffarth Stewart; Kelsey Borgen, Montana State University-Billings, IHO James & Ailene Dokken Olk Family; Janine Chalmers, Brigham Young University-Idaho, IHO Gayle Wagenhals Sage; Alaina Cole, Montana State University-Bozeman, IHO Bill & Peggy Pattison; Debra Griebel, University of North Dakota – Grand Forks, IRO Tom & Flora Coghlan Family; Jami Johnson, Montana State University-Bozeman, IHO Sever & Esther Enkerud; Taylor Odenbach, Montana State University-Bozeman, IMO James “Jamie” Fewer; Alex Page, University of Montana – Skaggs School of Pharmacy, IMO Arthur & Audrey Parke; Rachel Pewitt, Minot State University, IHO Charlotte Bruce; Kristina Rauscher, University of Great Falls, IHO Charlotte Bruce; Taylor Strommen, Western Governors University, IRO Herb & Lucille Friedl Family; Andrew Wageman, University of North Dakota, IMO Harold H. and Irene W. Smith; Laurel Wageman, Montana State University-Bozeman, IMO Wallace L. Johnson.

Third time recipients:

Devyn Bell, Gonzaga University, IMO L. J. & Jean Baker; Kirsten Bense, Montana State University-Northern, IHO O. E. & Lois Markle Family; Emily Etchart, University of Montana-Missoula, IMO Dr. F. M. & Bernice Knierim; Janice Griebel, Montana State University-Northern, IRO Willard & Charlotte Bruce Family; Joshua McIntyre, Carroll College, IMO Harry Rybock; Tyana Rasmusan, University of Montana – MT Tech., IHO Dorothy Kolstad ; Johanna Schultz, Montana State University – Bozeman, IMO Holly Wittmayer Kittleson; Samuel Smith, University of Utah, IRO Paul & Joyce Ruffcorn Jacobson; Shelby Stormer, University of Montana-Missoula, IMO Erik Walstad; Melissa Unger, University of Montana-Missoula, IMO Marsha Cotton Hall.

Fourth time recipients:

Sienna Dailey, Minot State University, IMO Leonard H. & Kathryn L. Langen; Jeffrey Irving, Montana State University-Bozeman, IRO Stannebein Family; Ethan Kliewer, Missoula College, IRO Beatrice Trites Family; Tiffany Wetzel, Montana State University-Billings, IRO John & Catherine Etchart Family.

Fifth time recipient:

Alacia Cole Miller, University of Montana – Skaggs School of Pharmacy, IRO LeRoy & Besss Lockwood Family.

The following gifts to GHS were also awarded:

Interactive Tech. Camera for the Science Department, IRO Vern & Edna Richardson Family; 6 Ipods for the Foreign Language Department, IMO Leonard & Margery Bollinger; Inquiry Based Units for the Social Studies Department, IMO Robert “Bob” Farrell; 3D printer for the Industrial Technology Department, IRO Glenn & Carolee Grina Wallem; Guitar Rack for the Music Department, IMO Diana Hedegaard; Sound System for the Music Department, IMO Cecil & Chloe Toftness; Library Learning Hub and supplies, IMO Esther Loomer.